Contact | How to find us | Sitemap | Imprint Deutsch English

Security Assessment

Banks are today dependent on IT applications being available at all times. For that reason IT security is of extremely high importance, additionally because of the external demands placed on this sector (§ 25a KWG, Basel II etc.).

Security within the company is no isolated component, but covers the entire company. Every employee and every information-processing system in the company must therefore be part of a holistic approach. Security aspects even extend beyond the company in-house if globally distributed collaboration, outsourcing or application service providing are considered. Responsibility for security lies with the company management.

Management must initiate the development of custom-made security concept and guarantee that the concept is implemented, complied with and updated with the necessary expertise.

Important criteria here are:

  • Opportunities and risks of new technologies
  • Legal aspects of IT security
  • Liability and indemnity
  • Data protection and telecommunications secrecy
  • Hazardous web contents and private use of company computers
  • Tangible threats to companies

Most banks and financial service providers have in recent years pressed ahead strongly with networking. Without internet connection many transaction processes are today simply inconceivable. More and more applications, which formerly ran on the in-house server or computer centre, have meanwhile begun to be operated by an outsourcing partner. With the necessary opening up of the company network however new information technology threats face the company. These may come about intentionally (passive and active attacks) or unintentionally (human error, force majeure etc.).

Based on their specialist knowledge and experience GDB is precisely aware of the weaknesses frequently occurring in the case of banks and IT services and can accordingly submit specific proposals for improvement.

The GDB Security Assessment is oriented towards the implementation concept for penetration tests of the Federal Office for information Security (BSI). It covers all systems including necessary organisational and technical security measures and delivers the result in the form of a detailed survey of the level of security.

 

Example of a Security Assessment

Beispiel eines Security Assessment

Kontakt | Route | Sitemap | Impressum Deutsch English

Security Assessment

Banken sind heutzutage von jederzeit verfügbaren IT-Anwendungen abhängig. Daher besitzt die IT-Sicherheit, auch wegen der an diese Branche gestellten externen Erfordernisse (§ 25a KWG, Basel II etc.), einen extrem hohen Stellenwert.

Sicherheit im Unternehmen ist keine isolierte Komponente, sondern umfasst das gesamte Unternehmen. Jede Mitarbeiterin und jeder Mitarbeiter sowie jedes eingesetzte informationsverarbeitende System im Unternehmen müssen deshalb Teil einer ganzheitlichen Betrachtung sein. Die Sicherheitsaspekte gehen sogar über das eigene Unternehmen hinaus, wenn etwa global verteilte Zusammenarbeit, Outsourcing oder Application Service Providing mit berücksichtigt werden.

Die Verantwortung für diese Sicherheit liegt bei der Unternehmensleitung. Sie muss den Auftrag erteilen, ein individuelles Sicherheitskonzept zu erstellen, und gewährleisten, dass das Konzept mit der notwendigen Expertise durchgeführt, eingehalten und fortgeschrieben wird.

Wichtige Kriterien sind hierbei:

  • Chancen und Risiken neuer Technologien
  • Rechtliche Aspekte bei der IT-Sicherheit
  • Haftung und Schadenersatz
  • Datenschutz und Fernmeldegeheimnis
  • Urheberrechtsverletzungen
  • Gefährdende Webinhalte und private Nutzung betrieblicher Rechner
  • Konkrete Bedrohungen für Unternehmen

Die meisten Banken und Finanzdienstleister haben in den letzten Jahren die Vernetzung stark vorangetrieben. Ohne Internet-Anbindung sind viele Geschäftsvorgänge heute gar nicht mehr denkbar. Immer mehr Anwendungen, die früher auf dem eigenen Server oder im Rechenzentrum liefen, werden inzwischen von einem Outsourcing-Partner betrieben. Mit der notwendigen Öffnung des Firmennetzes kommen aber gleichzeitig neue informationstechnische Bedrohungen auf das Unternehmen zu. Sie können absichtlich (passive und aktive Angriffe) oder unabsichtlich (menschliches Versagen, höhere Gewalt etc.) zustande kommen.

Aufgrund ihrer speziellen Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen kennt die GDB die häufig auftretenden Schwachstellen bei Banken und IT-Dienstleistungen genau und kann demzufolge ganz gezielte Verbesserungsvorschläge unterbreiten.

Das Security Assessment der GDB orientiert sich am Durchführungskonzept für Penetrationstests des Bundesamtes für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik. Es erfasst alle Systeme sowie die notwendigen organisatorischen und technischen Sicherheitsmaßnahmen und liefert als Ergebnis eine detaillierte Übersicht über das Sicherheitsniveau.

 

Beispiel eines Security Assessment

Beispiel eines Security Assessment